Constitution of the
Republic of Moldova

Moldovan president signs decree setting up new Supreme Security Council

President Nicolae Timofti has signed a decree on setting up new Supreme Security Council.

According to the decree, President, Supreme Commander of Armed Forces Nicolae Timofti is the head of the Council. Advisor to President in defence and national security issues Alexei Barbaneagra is appointed as Secretary of the council.

The members of the Supreme Security Council are:

Finance Minister Anatol Arapu;

Head of the Security and Intelligence Service Mihai Balan;

Interior Minister Oleg Balan;

Parliament Speaker Andrian Candu;

Head of the National Anticorruption Centre Viorel Chetraru;

Defence Minister Viorel Cibotaru;

Head of the Liberal Democratic Party’s parliamentary faction, Vladimir Filat;

Prime Minister Chiril Gaburici;

Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign and European Integration Minister Natalia Gherman;

Prosecutor General Corneliu Gurin;

Head of the Democratic Party’s parliamentary faction Marian Lupu;

Deputy Prime Minister Victor Osipov;

Secretary General of President’s Apparatus Ion Paduraru;

Head of the parliamentary commission for national security, defence and public order Veaceslav Untila.